Oujournalist’s Blog

The blog of a freelancing journalist in Arizona

Goldfinch September 2, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — Candace Hughes @ 7:31 pm

SUPERIOR, Az. I came across a tall tree as I was walking down toward the parking lot at Oakflats near Superior, Arizona. As I came closer, I thought the tree was glistening-almost glowing-with tiny moving spots of brilliant yellow. I walked slowly toward the tree and discovered a flock of 40 to 50 goldfinches settling in for the night. Their cries and peals of joy filled the air. I walked slowly and sat under the tree as they quieted. Although it was growing dark, I longed to lay under the tree and see what their evening would be like. Some of them continued to flutter around and adjust their positions for the evening. I reluctantly moved on to the parking lot, knowing there was no cell phone signal at Oak Flats. As I drove through Superior, I got a cell phone signal and called and told my husband I was on my way to Apache Junction. Not to worry, I said, I was with the goldfinches.

 

Leave a Reply

